Region

North East

North East

North East

FacebookTwitterShare

A warm welcome to the North East regional page of the Scottish Land & Estates website.  The North East region includes all of Aberdeenshire and Aberdeen City; from Banff down to Angus and from Huntly across to Stonehaven.

We represent all land and rural-property owners and land-based businesses in the North East.  Our members range from highly diversified estate businesses to owner -managed farms, and the professionals and businesses that support them.  Their diverse interests include agriculture, food and drink, tourism, forestry, renewable energy and the provision of affordable housing.

David Fyffe, Chairman of the North East Committee, owns and manages Fetternear Estate in Aberdeenshire. He created Scotland’s first rural business centre at Fetternear in 1992.  David plays a very active role, representing the diverse views and interests of our North East members.

Fiona Van Aardt is the North East Regional Support Officer. Originally from Ayrshire, Fiona returned to Scotland in 2015 after spending 13 years running a 5,000 hectare estate in Tanzania. She now lives on a farm near Aberlour in Speyside. She has a background in business management with over 25 years’ experience of running companies and delivering projects and events. 

David and Fiona, together with the NE committee, are responsible for delivering the regional workplan. Priorities include raising awareness of the positive contribution of members and their businesses to the North East economy and their local communities, as well as representing members’ interests by building strong relationships with local politicians and key stakeholders in the region.

To contact Fiona van Aardt, please email: fiona.vanaardt@scottishlandandestates.co.uk or call: 0131 653 5400/ 07483 054 290

TW Follow Fiona on Twitter at @FionaVanAardt

If you are a member of SLE, please log in and return to the regional pages to access to minutes and announcements from previous regional committee meetings. 

Members Only Access

You can find the minutes of our last NE Regional Committee Meeting (29th November 2018) here

Current North East committee: 

Name:  Organisation:  Contact: 
David Fyffe (Chair) Fetternear Estate  david@rural-business.com
Earl of Aboyne Aboyne Castle  Alistair@ajcscotland.com
James Begg Allathan Associates james.begg@allathanassociates.co.uk
Neil Crookston Scottish Woodlands neil.crookston@scottishwoodlands.co.uk
Sir George Forbes-Leith Fyvie Estate  gfl@fyvieestate.co.uk
Rory Galloway  Savills  RGalloway@savills.com
Richard Gledson  Balmoral Estate  Richard.gledson@balmoralcastle.com
Cecilia Grant  Learney Estate  learney4@aol.com
Alexander Lewis  Seafield Estate  sandy.lewis@seafield-estate.co.uk
Alastair Macphie  Glenbervie Estate  alastair.Macphie@macphie.com
Colin McKelvie  Johnston Carmichael (Scotland) colin.mckelvie@jcca.co.uk
Mark Nicolson Mar Estate  mark@kinbroch.co.uk
Clive Phillips Brodies LLP clive.phillips@brodies.com
Euan Webster  Lochter Activity Centre  euan@lochter.net
Stuart Young Dunecht Estates  stuart@dunechtestates.co.uk

 

Interested in joining the NE committee?

We are reviewing membership of the North East committee in 2019 and would be delighted to hear from members who are interested to get involved. Our aim is to ensure that the committee always reflects the diverse profile of SLE members in the NE and addresses our regional priorities, including the food and drink, tourism and agricultural sectors. Input to the discussions on post-Brexit agricultural support including the delivery of public goods and environmental and social benefits will feature highly on the committee’s 2019 agenda. We are particularly keen to hear from the next generation of landowners and managers, farmers, and rural businesses.

Please contact NE Chairman David Fyffe to discuss how you can get involved.
E-mail: david@rural-business.com