Wildlife Estates Scotland

Reay Vista

Wildlife Estates Scotland


WES images The Wildlife Estates Scotland (WES) initiative aims to promote the best habitat and wildlife management practices, build recognition and raise standards through the introduction of an objective accreditation system.

The key aims of the initiative are to:

  1. Promote best practice in wildlife and habitat management
  2. Build information on species and their habitats, wildlife management, conservation projects and integration with other land uses to monitor continuous improvement
  3. Use information to engage public and private stakeholders in encouraging best practice management for further maintenance of Scotland’s biodiversity

It does so through the establishment of an objective accreditation system. This involves the close assessment of an estate and its management against the following criteria:

  • Commitment to best practice
  • Adoption of wildlife and habitat management plans that underpin best practice
  • Maintaining species and habitats records
  • Conservation and collaborative work
  • Integration with other land management activities (such as farming, forestry and tourism)
  • Social, economic and cultural aspects (such as employment, community engagement and communications)

Accreditation is based on the combined score achieved for each of these sections, a qualitative assessment of management and site visits, all of which are conducted by an objective, external assessor. 

You can find more information about WES here: WES: The guardians of wildlife and habitat, Accreditation, Operation Methodology, Aims, Objectives and Incentives, Breach Policy, Non-compliance Policy

And if you want to get in touch to discuss Wildlife Estates Scotland accreditation, please contact our WES Project Officer, Caroline Pringle.

WES Level 1 Accreditation 

Apply for WES Level 1 Accreditation      

WES Level 2 Accreditation 

Introductory Guidance 

Module A - General 

Module B - Agriculture 

Module C - Hunting, Shooting & Fishing 

Module D - Woodland, Forestry & Hedgerows 

Module E - Tourism