The Clan Cameron Museum at Achnacarry was the fulfilment of a collaborative project started in 1987 by Donald Cameron of Lochiel and his wife, Lady Cecil Cameron, with support from the worldwide membership of Clan Cameron, the Commando Association and the Queens Own Cameron Highlanders Association.
The museum was created in a semi-derelict 17th century listed building at Achnacarry, and its history includes being partially burned by soldiers of the Duke of Cumberland's army in 1746.
The building was given to the project by the late Sir Donald Cameron of Lochiel and officially opened in 1989 by Sir Fitzroy Maclean of Dunconnel. The building has been transformed into a fascinating museum embracing Cameron memorabilia, Jacobite displays and exhibits from the Queens Own Cameron Highlanders and the Commandos, who trained at Achnacarry during World War II.
It is also the centre of a significant research project cataloging the wealth of information, papers and artefacts relating to Clan Cameron. Many of the researchers come from as far away as Australia and the USA. The founding of the Museum was enthusiastically backed by the Clan worldwide who contributed generously and since that time has been a magnet for clansmen and women from all over the world and by many people interested in the history of the Highlands.
The Camerons have lived in Lochaber since the 14th century and the Museum traces the history of the Clan from its early beginnings to the present day, through 27 generations.
Helping to provide a focus for Clan Cameron research and knowledge transfer together with a physical centre for retaining and preserving their heritage demonstrates a commitment by the estate to working collaboratively with communities of interest to develop and maintain internationally valuable resources.
The curator, staff members and volunteers are drawn from the local community.